National Conference for Catechetical Leadership

National Conference For Catechetical Leadership

Dedicated to quality catechetical leadership that brings the teaching ministry of Jesus to every Catholic child, youth and adult.

Conference "Constituent" Forums

According to Article IV of the NCCL Bylaws, "Conference forums are constituency-based groups whose participants share a common role within the catechetical community." Currently the Board of Directors has determined there are three (3) such forums. These mutually exclusive forums correspond to the three major roles held by most of the members in NCCL:

  • Diocesan Directors of Religious Education (DDRE) Forum

  • Diocesan Staff Forum

  • Parish Catechetical Leaders (PCL) Forum

When a person becomes a member of NCCL, (s)he automatically becomes a member of the forum that corresponds to the ministerial role the person is currently exercising. Each forum shall determine its own leadership arrangements in accordance with the NCCL bylaws and Conference policies. Forums meet during the annual conference and exposition where they select a Professional member to serve a three-year term as forum representative and delegate to the Representative Council. This person shall also represent the forum on the Leadership Discernment Committee.

In addition to the meeting time that is scheduled as a part of the annual conference and exposition, members of the Representative Council also gather in these three Forum groups during the Fall Representative Council meeting. Additional business is conducting through a variety of electronic communications throughout the year.


Diocesan Directors, Term:

  • Dr. Joseph Bound, Spring, 2018
  • Mr. James Gontis, Spring 2016
  • Mrs. Peg McEvoy, Spring, 2017
  • Mr. Jamin Herold, Spring, 2017

Diocesan Staff, Term:

  • Natalia Rosario "Charo" Lavado, Diocese of Dallas, Spring 2015
  • Mary O' Meara, Archdiocese of Washington, Spring 2015
  • Jonathan Schott, Diocese of Rochester, Spring 2016
  • Judy Snyder, Diocese of Rockford, Spring, 2017

 Parish Catechetical Leaders:

  • Sara Carey, Diocese of Knoxville, May, 2016
  • Judith Brusseau, Archdiocese of Washington, DC
  • Teri Burns, Diocese of Grand Rapids              
  • Brigid Johnson, Diocese of Knoxville              
  • Evelyn Tucker, Archdiocese of Portland in Oregon                


National Conference for Catechetical Leadership
415 Michigan Avenue, Suite #110| Washington, DC 20017
202-756-5512 | 202-756-5519 (fax) |
Privacy Policy
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management